CHN Community
Log In/Register

April 12, 2008 E-MAIL PRINT Bookmark and Share

Replay Official Explains No-Goal

by Adam Wodon/Managing Editor

Audio Spotlight

DENVER — Notre Dame had a goal disallowed midway through the third period, which would have made Saturday's NCAA final a 3-2 game in Boston College's favor.

Instead, moments later, the Eagles scored to make it 4-1.

Kyle Lawson accepted a cross-ice feed, turning his left skate to try to corral the puck before tapping it into an empty net. He then knocked it back towards his stick the other way with his right skate. Lawson then tried to tap the puck in, but fanned on it, thanks to the efforts, in part, of a Boston College defenseman.

After a long delay, it was ruled to be a no goal. According to replay official Greg Shepard, "The puck was kicked in by the Notre Dame player's right skate. The skate was moving toward the goal line."

According to the rule, the goal counts if the puck is knocked in with a skate, unless the player is making a "distinct kicking motion." At issue was whether the puck was propelled into the night by that kicking motion.

The replay took a significant amount of time to go over. The reason for that, according to Shepherd, was to "make sure there wasn't a deflection off the sticks or the defender's skates after it was kicked."

If it had been, the play would have been a goal.

Bookmark and Share E-MAIL PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2014 Adam Wodon. All Rights Reserved.