Odd Controversy After Bowling Green Shootout Win
CHN Staff Report
Bowling Green appeared to get its first win of the season, 4-3 in a shootout. The Falcons' Jordan Samuels-Thomas, who also scored in regulation, scored the lone goal in the shootout. But Samuels-Thomas was supposed to be ineligible for the shootout, under NCAA rules, because he took a penalty with 16 seconds remaining in overtime.
Game officials did not notice the error until after the outcome.
CCHA officials determined Saturday that the result would stand, despite the error by the officials.
“After a review of the circumstances ... it is clear that our officiating crew made an error in permitting a player who was serving a penalty when the overtime period concluded, to participate in the shootout,” CCHA commissioner Tom Anastos said in a statement. “This error in rules enforcement during the course of the game, while unfortunate, can only be corrected during the course of the game. Once the game is concluded, there are no further actions that can take place to correct the situation.”
According to CCHA Rule V.8, protests arising from decisions of game officials or from errors or misinterpretations of the rules will not be considered, and according to NCAA Rule 6-SECTION 39, protests are not recognized or allowed.
In the statement, the league said it will conduct a review of "all policies, protocol and circumstances surrounding this situation."
The two teams will square off again on Saturday night at 8:05 p.m. (CT).
UNO forced the shootout late in the third period. Trailing 3-2, the Mavericks pulled goalie John Faulkner and got the equalizer from Rich Purslow, who squeezed a sharp-angle shot past Falcons’ goalie Andrew Hammond to make it 3-3.
Hammond was a difference maker all night. He stopped 43 shots in regulation and overtime and then turned aside all three UNO shooters in the shootout.