April 8, 2011 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Miami's Miele Wins Hobey Baker Award

CHN Staff Report

ST. PAUL, Minn. — Andy Miele became the first Miami player to win the Hobey Baker Award in its 31-year history, it was announced today at the Frozen Four.

Miele, who leads the nation in scoring with 71 points, beat out the nation's leading goal scorer Matt Frattin (36) of North Dakota, and two-time 30-goal scorer Cam Atkinson of Boston College.

Miele recently signed a free agent contract with the NHL's Phoenix Coyotes, while Atkinson did the same with Columbus.

Frattin, it was announced during the Hobey ceremony, signed with the Toronto Maple Leafs today, and will play in the Leafs' final regular-season game Saturday against Montreal. Frattin was drafted by Toronto in 2007.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.