CHN Community
Log In/Register

November 15, 2013 E-MAIL PRINT Bookmark and Share

Bertagna: Officials Erred Twice in Overturning UMass Goal

CHN Staff Report

In an interview with College Hockey News senior editor Mike Machnik tonight at Notre Dame, Hockey East commissioner Joe Bertagna said the league will release a statement on Saturday in regards to a controverial video review in Thursday's game between Boston College and Massachusetts.

After it appeared UMass tied the game in the third period, Boston College head coach Jerry York called a timeout and asked for the play to be reviewed. After the review, the goal was called back for a UMass player being offsides, however, according to NCAA rules, officials may only review offsides during televised games.

Boston College went on to win the game, 2-1.

"There is a little bit of confusion based on how the rule is worded," said Bertagna, who joined Machnik between periods on Friday night. Machnik also serves as the radio analyst on the Merrimack Hockey Broadcast Network.

Bertagna continued, "We can go up and look at and review a bunch of things. ... Offsides and too many men on the ice are not traditionally things you can review. In the current two-year rulebook, it says in championship play, you can review offsides and too many men on the ice. Well, over the summer, the NCAA decided to expand that to any televised games, but it did not really define what it meant by televised games."

Thursday's game was not broadcasted on television, but a webcast was available through the internet.

"I believe our officials erred twice," Bertagna said. "First, Boston College made the request to look at the review for an offside after taking their timeout, and that's not a situation you can request, so they didn't have the right to go to review even though Boston College called a timeout. Second, the game was streamed but that's not a television game. In fairness to the referees, the memo that went out in July (explaining the change in protocol) didn't establish what a television game was.

"(Friday) afternoon I called the NCAA and they issued a statement that this is not the type of play the referees had the right to overtun for offsides. We're going to take the rare step of issuing a statement (Saturday) to acknowledge they got it wrong in this application of the rulebook. Our players and our coaches are held accountable and we have to hold the officials accountable as well."

Jeff Bunyon and Kevin Keenan were the referees for Thursday's game.

Bookmark and Share E-MAIL PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2014 College Hockey News.