September 27, 2006 PRINT Bookmark and Share

CCHA Poll: Michigan, MSU to Battle

CHN Staff Report

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. — The CCHA unveiled its preseason poll, preseason All-Conference team and its 2006-07 television schedule at its Media Day today.

CCHA coaches unanimously voted Nebraska-Omaha senior forward Scott Parse to the First Team. Parse, the 2005-06 CCHA Player of the Year and a 2005-06 NCAA All-American, led all players in conference and overall scoring, becoming the first Nebraska-Omaha player to accomplish the feat. Michigan forward T.J. Hensick fell just short of an unanimous selection with 10 first-place votes.

Last year's CCHA Rookie of the Year, MSU goalie Jeff Lerg, beat out Lake Superior State senior Jeff Jakaitis to receive first team honors.

Meanwhile, the coaches and media disagreed on the top spot in the preseason poll. The conference's 12 head coaches ranked Michigan State first while the media voted for Michigan, albeit by the narrowest of margins.

"You never know which team will be able to emerge, but I guarantee there will be a couple teams out of the pack that will emerge and surprise some people," said Ferris State coach Bob Daniels.

The Spartans return 17 players, including seven that are NHL draft picks, from a squad that went 17-4-3 in 2006 en route
to the 11th CCHA playoff championship in school history. Sophomore goalie Jeff Lerg, the league's Rookie of the Year last season and Bill Beagan trophy winner as CCHA Tournament MVP, anchors the team defensively.

Rick Comley, beginning his fifth season in East Lansing, Mich., needs 12 wins to become just the fifth coach in Division I history to reach 700.

The Wolverines, gunning for their 17th consecutive NCCA tournament appearance, are led by senior captain and defensman Matt Hunwick along with senior forward T.J. Hensick who is aiming for a third-straight 50-point season. Behind the bench, Red Berenson, in his 23rd season and directing a roster loaded with 13 NHL draft choices, is 15 wins shy of reaching the 600-win plateau for his distinguished career.


F Scott Parse, SR, Nebraska-Omaha
F T.J. Hensick, SR, Michigan
F Nathan Davis, JR, Miami
D Matt Hunwick, SR, Michigan
D Jack Johnson, SO, Michigan
G Jeff Lerg, SO, Michigan State


F Ryan Jones, JR, Miami
F Jonathan Matsumoto, JR, Bowling Green
F Kevin Porter, JR, Michigan
D Mitch Ganzak, JR, Miami
D Tyler Howells, SR, Michigan State
G Jeff Jakaitis, SR, Lake Superior

Coaches Poll

1. Michigan State (7)
2. Michigan (1)
3. Miami (4)
4. Ohio State
5. Nebraska-Omaha
6. Notre Dame
7. Alaska
8. Northern Michigan
9. Ferris State
10. Lake Superior State
11. Bowling Green
12. Western Michigan

Media Poll

1. Michigan (26)
2. Michigan State (38)
3. Miami (13)
4. Northern Michigan
5. Nebraska-Omaha
6. Ohio State
7. Ferris State
8. Notre Dame
9. Alaska
10. Lake Superior State
11. Bowling Green
12. Western Michigan

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.