January 21, 2008 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Hockey Humanitarian Nominees Named

CHN Staff Report

Twenty-two college hockey players are nominees for this year's Hockey Humanitarian Award, presented annually to "college hockey's finest citizen."

The nominees include eight Division I men's players. They are:

Ethan Cox, So., Colgate
Mike Forgie, Sr., Wayne State
Trevor Hyatt, Jr., Alaska-Fairbanks
Marty Mjellei, Sr., St. Cloud State
Billy Ryan, Sr., Maine
Cal St. Denis, Sr., Holy Cross
Topher Scott, Sr., Cornell
Dan VeNard, Sr., Notre Dame

The rest of the nominees are:

Ryan Adler, Jr., Hobart
William Bruce, Sr., Williams
Jeff DeFrancesca, Sr., Wisconsin-Stout
Adam Dekker, Sr., Utica
Missy Elumba, Jr., Northeastern
Jody Heywood, Jr., Ohio State
Ashley King, Sr., Wayne State
Caralyn Quan, Sr., Williams
Trudy Reyns, Jr., Quinnipiac
Bobbi Ross, Sr., Minnesota
Courtney Sekevitch, Sr., St. Thomas
Jason Usher Sr. Wisconsin-River Falls
Laura Vannelli, Sr., Gustavus Adolphus
Dagney Willey, Jr., Minnesota

Finalists for the award will be announced on the Hockey Humanitarian Award Foundation web site (www.hockeyhumanitarian.org) on Jan. 28. The 13th recipient of the Hockey Humanitarian Award will be selected from the group of finalists and named in a ceremony held in conjunction with the NCAA Skills Competition and the Hobey Baker Memorial Award on Friday, April 11th at the Pepsi Center in Denver during the 2008 NCAA Frozen Four.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.