March 13, 2008 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Army Cleans Up at AHA Awards

CHN Staff Report

ROCHESTER, N.Y. — Army, which finished first and is the No. 1 seed in this weekend's Atlantic Hockey Final Five, was well represented in the league's awards, announced today.

Goalie Josh Kassel was named the Player of the Year, Zach McKelvie was named the Best Defenseman, Brian Riley was named Coach of the Year, and Luke Flicek joined Kassel and McKelvie on the all-league First Team.

Kassel joined McKelvie as Army's first two major award winners during its five-year stay in the Atlantic Hockey Association. Riley earned his third straight Coach of the Year trophy and the Black Knights were honored for their regular season championship at the league banquet.

Flicek was one of three forwards on the all-conference first team and was joined by McKelvie and Kassel. Sophomore Owen Meyer earned second team honors.

Voting was done by league coaches prior to the beginning of the playoffs.

Army has three of the six players on the first team and one selection on the second team.

"Tonight was a great night for Army hockey," Riley said. "I am so proud of all these players for their hard work and dedication on and off the ice. We were fortunate to have a lot of success this season and I am grateful to the conference coaches for the recognition of our players."

Kassel is in the top eight nationally in both goals against and save percentage. For the season, Kassel posted an 18-9-2 mark, including five shutouts. He has a 1.84 goals against average and a .927 save percentage, both tops in the AHA. Kassel's five shutouts give him nine for his career, tied for second in Academy history with Brad Roberts.

Kassel is the first goalie to be named Player of the Year.

"This is a tremendous honor for Josh and a great honor for a goalkeeper, to be named the Player of the Year," Riley said. "Every time Josh steps on the ice, he gives you a chance to win and that's all you can ask from a goaltender."

Riley led the Black Knights to their first-ever regular season championship and set the Academy record for conference wins with 19.

2007-08 Atlantic Hockey All-Conference Awards

All-Conference First Team

F Simon Lambert*, Sr., RIT
F Alexandre Parent, Sr., Sacred Heart
F Luke Flicek, Sr., Army
D Dan Ringwald, So., RIT
D Zach McKelvie, Jr., Army
G Josh Kassel*, Jr., Army

* - Unanimous Selection

All-Conference Second Team

F Owen Meyer, So., Army
F Ben Cottreau, Sr., Mercyhurst
F Bear Trapp, Jr., Sacred Heart
D Greg Flynn, Jr., Air Force
D Scott Marchesi, Sr., Sacred Heart
G Beau Erickson, So., Connecticut

All-Conference Third Team

F Eric Ehn, Sr., Air Force
F Brodie Sheahan, So., Holy Cross
F Jereme Tendler, Sr., American Int'l
D Matt Burke, Sr., Holy Cross
D Bobby Raymond, Jr., RIT
G Joe Calvi, Fr., Bentley

All-Rookie Team

F Erik Peterson, Bentley
F Vincent Scarsella, Canisius
F Everett Sheen, Holy Cross
D Mark Znutas, Holy Cross
D Jeff Terminesi, Mercyhurst
G Joe Calvi, Bentley

Major Award Winners

Player of the Year: Josh Kassel, Army
Rookie of the Year: Erik Peterson, Bentley
Coach of the Year: Brian Riley, Army
Best Defensive Forward: David Kasch, Canisius
Best Defensemen: Zach McKelvie, Army
Individual Sportsmanship Award: Alexandre Parent, Sacred Heart
Team Sportsmanship Award: Holy Cross

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.