March 20, 2008 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Ten Hobey Finalists Announced

CHN Staff Report

The 10 finalists for the Hobey Baker Memorial Award were announced Thursday.

Seven forwards and three goaltenders comprise the list that includes 3 players from the CCHA, 3 from the WCHA, 2 from Hockey East, 1 from the ECAC, and 1 from Atlantic Hockey.

The 10 finalists are:

Nathan Gerbe, Jr, F, Boston College
Ryan Jones, Sr, F, Miami
Kevin Porter, Sr, F, Michigan
Jeff Lerg, Jr, G, Michigan State
Lee Jubinville, Jr, F, Princeton
Simon Lambert, Sr, F, RIT
Ryan Lasch, So, F, St. Cloud State
Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Sr, G, North Dakota
T.J. Oshie, Jr, F, North Dakota
Kevin Regan, Sr, G, New Hampshire

The 2008 Hobey Baker Award winner will be announced from a field of three Hobey Hat Trick finalists on Friday, April 11, 2008 during the NCAA Frozen Four Championships in Denver, Colo. The 28th annual award announcement honoring college hockey’s top player will be televised live during prime time on ESPNU.

Award criteria include candidates mimicking the superlative character traits put forth by the award’s namesake, Hobey Baker, a World War I flying star better known as America’s greatest amateur athlete in his day. Award candidates must exhibit strength of character both on and off the ice, contribute to the integrity of his team and display outstanding skills in all phases of the game. Consideration should be given to scholastic achievement and sportsmanship.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.