April 1, 2008 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Porter, Berenson Lead CHN Honors

CHN Staff Report

PHILADELPHIA — Kevin Porter, the Hobey Baker Award finalist and national leader in goals, was named 2007-08 College Hockey News Player of the Year.

Porter, who will lead Michigan to the Frozen Four in Denver next weekend, has 33 goals and 62 points in 42 games this season. The Northville, Mich., native has 15 power-play goals are second in the nation, and he also leads all players in plus-minus with plus-33.

His coach, Red Berenson, was named CHN Coach of the Year. Berenson, who has never won the American Hockey Coaches Association's Penrose Award, has won two national championships with the Wolverines (1996 and 1998). He took a team that many pundits were unsure about going into this season, picked fourth in many instances, and has won the CCHA regular-season and conference tournament championship. The Wolverines also won the Great Lakes Invitational this season.

Berenson, a former great as a Michigan and NHL player, is 644-297-68 in 24 seasons as Wolverines head coach. This is Michigan's 10th Frozen Four under Berenson.

The CHN Rookie of the Year is Colorado College's Richard Bachman. Bachman was the first player since Wisconsin star Curtis Joseph to be named Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year in the WCHA in the same season. Bachman took the reins early in the season, and wound up with a 25-9-1 record, 1.85 goals against average and .931 save percentage.

The remainder of the 2007-08 All-CHN teams are below:


F Kevin Porter, Sr., Michigan
F Nathan Gerbe, Jr., Boston College
F Ryan Jones, Sr., Miami
D Alec Martinez, Miami
D Jack Hillen, Sr., Colorado College
G Jean-Philippe Lamoureux, Sr., North Dakota


F Chad Kolarik, Sr., Michigan
F Chad Rau, Jr., Colorado College
F Pete MacArthur, Sr., Boston University
D Chay Genoway, So., North Dakota
D Grant Clitsome, Sr., Clarkson
G Jeff Zatkoff, Jr., Miami


F Colin Wilson, Boston University
F Max Pacioretty, Michigan
F Riley Nash, Cornell
D Ryan McDonagh, Wisconsin
D Chad Langlais, Michigan
G Richard Bachman, Colorado College

Player of the Year: Kevin Porter, Michigan
Rookie of the Year: Richard Bachman, Colorado College
Coach of the Year: Red Berenson, Michigan

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.