April 11, 2008 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Bachman, Podsiad Honored with National Awards

CHN Staff Report

DENVER — The Hockey Commissioners' Association (HCA) announced Friday that Colorado College freshman goaltender Richard Bachman is the National Division I Rookie of the Year, while Army senior defenseman Chase Podsiad is the winner of the second annual Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award.

Bachman, who was also named a First Team All-American on Friday, backstopped the CC Tigers to its sixth WCHA regular sesaon title in the last 11 years. He set school records with a 1.85 goals-against average and .931 save percentage. Both marks were third-best in the nation.

Bachman, a 20 year-old hailing from Highlands Ranch, Colo., became just the second player in the 56 year history of the WCHA to earn the league's Player of the Year and Rookie of the Year accolades in the same season.

Honorable mentions for the Rookie of the Year award were: Max Pacioretty (Michigan), Erik Peterson (Bentley), Riley Nash (Cornell), Matt Read (Bemidji State), and Colin Wilson (Boston University).

Podsiad, meanwhile, was named the winner of the Unsung Hero Award, an honor established by the HCA in honor of former Army player Derek Hines. Hines played at Army from 1999 to 2003 and was a four-year letter winner and co-captain his senior season. He was killed in the line of duty in Afghanistan in September, 2006.

Podisad, a senior defenseman for Army, has been committed to a number of community service activities, participating with the Big Brother-Big Sister program, the Special Olympics, Student-Athlete Advisory Committee, Company Tutor, in the Fellowship of Christian Athletes and the Officers' Christian Fellowship program.

Podsiad finished his career with 14 goals and 40 assists for the Black Knights.

"It is a tremendous honor to receive an award with Derek's name on it," said Podsiad. "I would love to be half the leader and man that Derek was. I was to thank the Hines family for this great honor, and coach [Brian] Riley for all his faith in me and support throughout my tenure. The award is as much my mom [Marsha] and dad's [Ron] as it is mine. I am so lucky to have them and their support."

The honorable mentions for the Derek Hines Unsung Hero Award are Rylan Kaip (North Dakota), Travis Ramsay (Maine), Wylie Rogers (Alaska), and Topher Scott (Cornell).

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.