April 15, 2008 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Berenson Named Coach of the Year

CHN Staff Report

After leading the Michigan Wolverines to a 33-6-4 record this season, Gordon "Red" Berenson has been chosen the winner of the 2008 Spencer Penrose Award as Division I Men's Coach of the Year.

Berenson coached a team this season that featured only two seniors and began the year with 12 freshmen on the roster. The Wolverines advanced to their first Frozen Four appearance since 2003, winning the NCAA East Regional with victories over CHA champion Niagara and ECAC champion Clarkson. The Wolverines ultimately fell to Notre Dame in overtime in the national semifinal round.

This is the first national Coach of the Year award for Berenson, who was also named the College Hockey News Coach of the Year last month. Berenson has compiled a career mark of 644-298-68 in 24 seasons at Michigan. His 644 wins rank him eighth all-time among all NCAA coaches.

The 2007-08 edition of the Wolverines qualified for the NCAA Tournament for a record 18th consecutive year. The CCHA regular season and tournament titles were the 10th and 8th, respectively for Berenson.

A native of Regina, Saskatchewan, Berenson was a two-time All-American and a captain at Michigan, graduating in 1962. Following his college career, he played 987 games during a 17-year NHL career with Montreal, New York, Detroit, and St. Louis. Berenson scored 261 goals and 397 assists in his NHL career.

The runners-up for this year's AHCA Men's Division I Coach of the Year award were Guy Gadowsky of Princeton University and Jerry York of Boston College.

The Spencer Penrose Award is named in memory of the Colorado Springs benefactor who built the Broadmoor Hotel Complex, site of the first ten NCAA championship hockey tournaments. It will be presented at the AHCA Coach of the Year Banquet in Naples, Florida, on Saturday evening, April 26.

Berenson is the third consecutive CCHA coach to win the national Coach of the Year honor (Miami's Enrico Blasi — 2006, Notre Dame's Jeff Jackson — 2007).

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.