March 17, 2009 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Kalemba, O'Neill, Allain Earn Top ECAC Honors

CHN Staff Report

ALBANY, N.Y. — Princeton junior goaltender Zane Kalemba was named the ECAC Hockey's Player of the Year, it was announced today.

In addition, Kalemba won the Ken Dryden Award, presented annually to the top goaltender, after being named a first-team all-league selection.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Dartmouth’s Jody O’Neill, who was also selected to the League’s all-rookie team. Senior Matt Generous St. Lawrence was named Best Defensive Defenseman, and Cornell’s senior Tyler Mugford was named Best Defensive Forward.

Colgate junior David McIntyre, Cornell sophomore Riley Nash and Yale junior Mark Arcobello made-up the forwards on first team, and Union senior Lane Caffaro and senior Zach Miskovic of St. Lawrence earned first team defensive honors.

Yale head coach Keith Allain was recipient of the Tim Taylor Award (Coach of the Year) guiding the Bulldogs to their first regular-season title since the 1997-98 season.

For the second consecutive season the Princeton Tigers earned the Turfer Athletic Trophy, which is given to the team that the coaches believe "best fits the ideals of both Turfer Athletic and the ECAC Hockey: Sportsmanship, Commitment, Tenacity and Innovation."

Kalemba was the ECAC Hockey leader in goals-against average (1.48) and save percentage (.944). The junior netminder anchored a Tigers’ defense which was tops in the League in scoring defense, allowing a League-low 40 goals. Kalemba posted a 14-7-0 record for a League second-best winning (.667) and recorded two shutouts.

O’Neill took home the League's top rookie honor after becoming the Big Green’s starter in net early in the season. The freshman posted a goals-against average of 2.50 in logging the third-most minutes in League play among ECAC Hockey goaltenders. O’Neill recorded three shutouts in earning a record of 11-9-2.


G Zane Kalemba, Princeton
D Lane Caffaro, Union
D Zach Miskovic , St. Lawrence
F Mark Arcobello, Yale
F Riley Nash, Cornell
F David McIntyre, Colgate


G Ben Scrivens, Cornell
D Tom Dignard, Yale
D Brendon Nash, Cornell
F Sean Backman, Yale
F Bryan Leitch, Quinnipiac
F Colin Greening, Cornell


G Alec Richards, Yale
D Alex Biega, Harvard
D Jody Peterson, Princeton
F Brock McBride, St. Lawrence
F Broc Little, Yale
F Adam Presizniuk, Union


G Jody O’Neill, Dartmouth
D Jeff Buvinow, Brown
D Keir Ross, Cornell
F Patrick Cullen, Rensselaer
F Doug Jones, Dartmouth
F Brian O’Neill, Yale

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.