September 15, 2009 PRINT Bookmark and Share

More Cities Join FF Bid Process

by Tom Reale/CHN Correspondent

Several recent hosts are on the list of cities planning to bid for the 2013, 2014, and 2015 Frozen Fours in a process that begins this fall with formal submissions and concludes in spring or summer 2010 with the announcement of the selected venues.

HSBC Arena in Buffalo, site of the 2003 Frozen Four, was preparing a bid in 2008, when the expectation was that the NCAA would begin accepting bids for a decision by summer 2009. According to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, the 2007 Frozen Four host, the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, is also planning a bid. The Pepsi Center in Denver, which hosted in 2008, “will be in the NCAA Frozen Four bid cycle for either 2013 or 2014” according to the Metro Denver Sports Commission.

Additionally, though there is not yet a confirmed bid, NCAA and Washington Capitals officials have both expressed interest in a entertaining a bid from the Verizon Center in Washington, which hosted the Frozen Four this past April.

There are also a number of Frozen Four newcomers in the mix. Robert Morris and VisitPittsburgh are preparing a bid centered on the Pittsburgh Penguins’ new arena, Consol Energy Center, which is currently under construction with an expected opening in August 2010. The Post-Gazette also indicated that bids are being put forward by Kansas City’s Sprint Center, which was an unsuccessful bidder in 2005 for the 2009-12 Frozen Fours but will host the IceBreaker in 2012, and from Nebraska-Omaha and Qwest Center Omaha, which bid unsuccessfully in 2003 for the 2007 and 2008 events.

To date, there has been no official confirmation of a bid pending from the city of Boston. The then-Fleet Center was a somewhat unexpected snub in 2005 and was thought at the time to be an early favorite for this round of bids.

History may indicate that recent hosts will have a difficult time landing the event. Although the first 10 editions of the Frozen Four were held in Colorado Springs, Colo., the event was a frequent visitor to the Twin Cities, Boston, Detroit, and Providence, R.I. in the intervening decades. But between 1992 and 2012, the gaps have widened. In that 20-year stretch, the shortest time periods between a single city hosting the Frozen Four twice are four years (Milwaukee, 1993 and 1997), seven years (St. Paul, 1994 and 2002) and nine years (Albany, 1992 and 2001; Milwaukee, 1997 and 2006; St. Paul 2002 and 2011).

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 Tom Reale. All Rights Reserved.