March 17, 2010 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Da Costa Leads HEA All-Rookie Team

CHN Staff Report

WAKFIELD, Mass. — Hockey East announced its 2009-10 All-Rookie Team today, with Merrimack forward Stephane Da Costa leading the way as the only unanimous selection.

Among the other individuals to be honored at Thursday’s tournament banquet will be Mass.-Lowell co-captain Ben Holmstrom, the Best Defensive Forward. Another team co-captain, Massachusetts’ Justin Braun was chosen as the Best Defensive Defenseman. It is the first time a UMass player has won the award.

Ben Smith became the first BC player since 1994 to win the Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award, named after the former Eagle player and coach. The award is given annually to the league player who has consistently played at a high level, while maintaining high standard of conduct both on and off the ice.

New Hampshire is the recipient of the Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award as the squad with the fewest penalty minutes in league play (8.8/gm). UNH captain Bobby Butler and Maine sophomore Gustav Nyquist shared the award as scoring champions with 41 points each in league play. Nyquist actually led the nation during the regular season with 55 points overall. Butler, meanwhile, was also the winner of the league’s Three Stars Award, dominating all offensive players with 21 goals in Hockey East play. Only one other player potted more than 15.

The Bauer goaltending champion, owning the best combined goaltending statistics, was Mass.- Lowell senior Carter Hutton, who notched a 2.35 GAA and .920 save percentage.


G: Chris Rawlings, Northeastern (North Delta, B.C.)
D: Brian Dumoulin, Boston College (Biddeford, Maine)
D: Jake Newton, Northeastern (San Jacinto, Calif.)
D: Max Nicastro, Boston University (Thousand Oaks, Calif.)
F: Stephane Da Costa, Merrimack (Paris, France)
F: Chris Kreider, Boston College (Boxford, Mass.)
F: Sebastian Stålberg, Vermont (Gothenburg, Sweden)


Three Stars Award: Bobby Butler, New Hampshire
Best Defensive Defenseman: Justin Braun, Massachusetts
Len Ceglarski Sportsmanship Award: Ben Smith, Boston College
Scoring Champions: B. Butler, UNH/G. Nyquist, Maine, 41 pts.
Goaltending Champion: Carter Hutton, Mass.-Lowell (2.35 GA, .920 save %)
Best Defensive Forward: Ben Holmstrom, Mass.-Lowell
Charlie Holt Team Sportsmanship Award: New Hampshire Wildcats

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.