April 9, 2010 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Denver Puts 3 on All-America Team

CHN Staff Report

DETROIT — Twenty different Division I hockey-playing schools can celebrate players on the 2009-10 All-America team. The nation's top 24 college hockey players were announced tonight at the NCAA Men's Division I Frozen Four here.

Leading the way was Denver, with three West First Team selections, and the New Hampshire, with one East First Team choice and two on the Second Team. Noteworthy among the selections:

* Only one player had been honored before; junior defenseman Erik Gustafsson of Northern Michigan repeated on the West Second Team.

* There are 14 players from the United States eight from Canada, and two from Sweden.

* The honorees are fairly youthful. Only nine of the 24 selections are seniors. Of the rest, nine are juniors and six are sophomores.

* The honorees hail from 10 different states and four Canadian provinces, as well as Sweden (two players for the second year in a row).

* Seventeen players participated in the NCAA Tournament. Three of them advanced to the "Frozen Four," all from the West.

* The honorees include all 10 finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Memorial Award.

First Team

G Ben Scrivens, SR, Cornell (Spruce Grove, Alb.)
D Colby Cohen, JR, Boston University (Villanova, Pa.)
D Brendon Nash, SR, Cornell (Kamloops, B.C.)
F Bobby Butler, SR, New Hampshire (Marlborough, Mass.)
F Gustav Nyquist, SO, Maine (Malmo, Sweden)
F Chase Polacek, JR, Rensselaer (Edina, Minn.)

G Marc Cheverie, JR, Denver (Cole Harbour, N.S.)
D Brendan Smith, JR, Wisconsin (Mimico, Ont.)
D Patrick Weircioch, SO, Denver (Maple Grove, B.C.)
F Blake Geoffrion, SR, Wisconsin (Brentwood, Tenn.)
F Mark Olver, JR , Northern Michigan (Burnaby, B.C.)
F Rhett Rakhshani, SR, Denver (Huntington Beach, Calif.)

Second Team

G Brian Foster, SR, New Hampshire (Pembroke, N.H.)
D Justin Braun, SR, Massachusetts (Vadnais Heights, Minn.)
D Blake Kessel, SO, New Hampshire (Verona, Wis.)
F Sean Backman, SR, Yale (Cos Cob, Conn.)
F Nick Johnson, SR, Sacred Heart (Windsor, Conn.)
F Broc Little, JR, Yale (Rindge, N.H.)

G Cody Reichard, SO, Miami (Celina, Ohio)
D Erik Gustafsson, JR, Northern Michigan (Kvissleby, Sweden)
D Jeff Petry, JR, Michigan State (Farmington Hills, Mich.)
F Jack Connolly, SO, Minnesota-Duluth (Duluth, Minn.)
F Zac Dalpe, SO, Ohio State (Paris, Ont.)
F Matt Read, JR, Bemidji State (Ilderton, Ont.)

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.