September 2, 2010 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Parker, York Honored with Patrick Trophy

CHN Staff Report

Boston College and Boston University head coaches Jerry York and Jack Parker, respectively, are joined in many ways, most of which have been well-chronicled over the years.

Now the two legends, winners of the last three national championships, and 1-2 in the current wins list among active NCAA Division I coaches, will both receive the 2010 Lester Patrick Trophy from the National Hockey League. The award is presented annually for outstanding service to hockey in the United States.

Other 2010 recipients are former Boston Bruins winger Cam Neely, and long-time AHL president Dave Andrews.

York and Parker were both players at their alma maters, and both started head coaching careers at young ages. Parker started right at his alma mater, while York first went to Clarkson, then Bowling Green, before heading back to Chestnut Hill in 1994. In that span, York has won four national titles, including three at BC, while Parker has also won three.

York, whose 850 career wins is second all time to Ron Mason, is the fifth person from Boston College – and third coach – to earn the award, joining John A. “Snooks” Kelley ’28, honored in 1972, Len Ceglarski ’51 (1990), Joe Mullen ’79 (1995) and Brian Leetch ’87 (2007).

The winner is selected by a committee consisting of the President of the NHL, an NHL Governor, a representative of the New York Rangers (Lester Patrick's old team), a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Builder's section, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame Player's section, a member of the U. S. Hockey Hall of Fame, a member of the NHL Broadcasters’ Association and a member of the Professional Hockey Writers’ Association. Except for the League President, each member is rotated annually.

The recipients will be honored at an evening reception in Boston in late October. Further details on the event will be announced at a later date.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.