March 9, 2011 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Miami, Ferris State Lead CCHA Honors

CHN Staff Report

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. — A trio of Miami forwards and two seniors for Ferris State have been selected to the All-CCHA First Team.

RedHawks senior forward Andy Miele, the nation’s leading scorer, was a unanimous selection to the First Team, marking the first time a player received only first-place votes since Michigan’s Kevin Porter in 2008. Michigan senior forward Carl Hagelin earned seven first-place votes after captaining the Wolverines to their 11th regular-season championship while leading the team in goals, assists and points. Miami forwards Carter Camper and Reilly Smith both finished with six first-place votes and a total of 40 points, resulting in four forwards selected for First-Team honors while only two were selected for the Second Team.

Ferris State teammates Zach Redmond and Pat Nagle were also named to the First Team. Redmond was the only defenseman in the league to lead his team in scoring, while Nagle had the second-best overall goals-against-average in the nation (1.97) and the top save percentage in the CCHA (.924). Michigan State defenseman Torey Krug, the Spartans' first sophomore captain in a quarter century, completes the First Team after leading the league in goals by a defenseman during conference play.

Notre Dame freshmen T.J. Tynan and Anders Lee posted impressive rookie campaigns en route to being named the forwards on the Second Team. Tynan led all freshmen in the nation in points (46), while Lee led all rookies and finished second in the league in overall goal-scoring (21). Miami junior Chris Wideman and Michigan freshman Jon Merrill were recognized as the defensemen on the Second Team, as both led their team in scoring from a defenseman.

Alaska junior goaltender Scott Greenham was the final Second Team selection after playing every minute for the Nanooks and compiling a .921 save percentage and a 2.19 goals-against-average.

2010-11 CCHA All-Conference Teams

First Team
F Andy Miele, SR, Miami
F Carl Hagelin, SR, Michigan
F Carter Camper, SR, Miami
F Reilly Smith, SO, Miami
D Zach Redmond, SR, Ferris State
D Torey Krug, SO, Michigan State
G Pat Nagle, SR, Ferris State

Second Team
F T.J. Tynan, FR, Notre Dame
F Anders Lee, FR, Notre Dame
D Chris Wideman, JR, Miami
D Jon Merrill, FR, Michigan
G Scott Greenham, JR, Alaska

Honorable Mention: Joe Sova, JR, D, Alaska; Pat Cannone, SR, F, Miami; Rick Schofield, SR, F, Lake Superior; Brandon Burlon, JR, D, Michigan; Sam Calabrese, SO, D, Notre Dame; Cody Reichard, JR, G.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.