March 17, 2011 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Miele, Jackson, Tynan Headline CCHA Awards

CHN Staff Report

DETROIT — Senior forward Andy Miele of the Miami RedHawks was named the CCHA Player of the Year on Thursday. Eleven individual awards were handed out at Detroit’s historic Fox Theatre.

Miele leads the nation in scoring and has points in 29 of 34 games, including 19 multiple-point outings, and captured the league’s scoring crown with the most points by a CCHA player since the 1991-92 season. The Grosse Pointe Woods, Mich., native was the first scoring champion in CCHA history with more assists than any other player had points. Miami has had the honor two years in a row, following goalie Cody Reichard's selection last season.

Notre Dame’s Jeff Jackson was named the CCHA Coach of the Year for the the second time in five years as the Fighting Irish bench boss. Jackson filled out a lineup that featured 10 freshmen most nights, but managed to double his team’s conference win total to 18 and score 41 more goals than a season ago on the way to a second-place CCHA finish, jumping seven spots from the 2009-10 campaign.

Notre Dame forward T.J. Tynan led all freshmen in the CCHA, and the entire nation, with 19 goals and 46 points, including 14 multiple-point games, en route to becoming the second player for the Irish to be honored as the CCHA Rookie of the Year.

Miami senior forward Carter Camper was named the Scholar-Athlete of the Year. Camper, a psychology major, is the first RedHawk to receive the distinction. The 22-year-old finished second in scoring on the RedHawks with a 17-35-52 line and will finish his career as one of the top three all-time scoring leaders in RedHawks history.

Michigan State junior forward Trevor Nill received the Mike and Marian Ilitch Humanitarian Award as the league’s top citizen, based on his contributions off the ice, as well as on, to his team, his program, his school and his community. Nill, a native of Novi, Mich., was deeply moved by his mother’s battle with cancer, and at the age of 16 he and a friend organized ‘Bike Across Michigan,’ which raised over $2,500 for cancer research.

Alaska senior captain Kevin Petovello was presented with the Terry Flanagan Memorial Award in recognition of his perseverance, dedication and courage while overcoming severe adversity. Petovello suffered severe structural damage to his knee midway through the 2010-11 campaign, including torn medial and anterior collateral ligaments, yet decided to postpone reconstructive surgery until after his senior season. Despite the injury, Petovello missed only three games for the Nanooks and doubled his point totals from last season, finishing third in scoring on the team.

Michigan State sophomore captain Torey Krug was named CCHA Best Offensive Defenseman. Krug led the league in goals from a defenseman with 10 of his 11 markers coming in conference action. He was also the only blueliner to record a hat trick in conference play.

Notre Dame junior Sean Lorenz was honored as the Best Defensive Defenseman. Lorenz played in all 36 games for the Fighting Irish and led the league in plus-minus with a +21 rating.

Michigan senior captain Carl Hagelin was awarded Best Defensive Forward. The Sodertalje, Sweden, native led the regular-season champions with a plus-14 rating in conference play, along with leading the team in goals, assists and points.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.