April 1, 2011 PRINT Bookmark and Share

CHN Player of the Year: Matt Frattin

CHN Staff Report

PRINCETON, N.J. — North Dakota senior Matt Frattin is College Hockey News' 2011 Player of the Year.

Frattin, who hails from Edmonton, Alberta, leads the nation in goals with 36, and his team is headed to next week's Frozen Four.

It's safe to say Frattin was in a close race with the other Hobey Hat Trick finalists — Miami's Andy Miele, who leads the nation in points with 71 to Frattin's 60; and Boston College junior Cam Atkinson, who has 31 goals. But Frattin is the only one of the three whose team advanced past the First Round of the NCAA Tournament.

Frattin's career at North Dakota has been as well-chronicled as any player, thanks to a pair of arrests in the summer of 2009. That led to his dismissal from the team by coach Dave Hakstol. But Frattin, an NHL Draft choice of the Toronto Maple Leafs, decided to work to return to school and the team instead of leaving for a pro deal.

By mid-season 2009-10, he'd done enough, according to Hakstol, to earn reinstatement to the team. He had a strong second half of last season, although he was suspended by the league at one point for a hit on Minnesota's Kevin Wehrs. Frattin overcame that incident as well, and there's no questioning his dominance, and leadership, over the course of this season.

"He is the most pro ready of any player out there," said an NHL scout. "And from when I've met him, and talked to people, he seems to have turned things around and is a real character person."

Here's the remainder of the 2010-11 All-CHN Teams:


F Matt Frattin, Sr., North Dakota
F Cam Atkinson, Jr., Boston College
F Andy Miele, Sr., Miami
D Justin Schultz, So., Wisconsin
D Brian Dumoulin, So., Boston College
G Aaron Dell, So., North Dakota


F Jack Connolly, Jr., Minnesota-Duluth
F Paul Thompson, Sr., New Hampshire
F Reilly Smith, So., Miami
F Chase Polacek, Sr., RPI
D Chay Genoway, Sr., North Dakota
D Jimmy Martin, Sr., Yale
G Keith Kinkaid, So., Union


F T.J. Tynan, Notre Dame
F Anders Lee, Notre Dame
F Jason Zucker, Denver
F Jaden Schwartz, Colorado College
D Mat Bodie, Union
D Justin Faulk, Minnesota-Duluth
G Sam Brittain, Denver

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.