March 15, 2012 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Four Defensemen Lead Hobey Finalist List

CHN Staff Report

The 10 finalists for the 2012 Hobey Baker Award were named today, and four defensemen were on the list, as selected by the nation's 58 Division I head coaches.

Wisconsin junior Justin Schultz is considered the most likely of that four to win the award, which last went to a defenseman in 2009, Boston University's Matt Gilroy. Other defenseman on the list were Boston College's Brian Dumoulin, Michigan State's Torey Krug and Air Force's Tim Kirby.

There was two goaltenders named — sophomore Troy Grosenick, who becomes Union's first finalist since joining Division I in 1991; and Michigan's fifth-year senior Shawn Hunwick.

The nation's top three point gatherers are all among the final 10 — Maine's Spencer Abbott (20-39—59), Colgate's Austin Smith (36-20—56) and Minnesota-Duluth's Jack Connolly (18-38—56). All three are seniors.

The remaining forward is Miami's Reilly Smith, who is second in the nation in goals with 27.

A 23-member selection committee will choose this year's recipient. The top three vote getters from that process will be announced as the Hobey Hat Trick on March 29.

The winner will be announced on the Friday of the Frozen Four, April 6, in Tampa, Fla. The presentation this year will be held at MacDill Air Force Base.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.