March 22, 2012 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Bentley's Genser Wins 60th Walter Brown Award

CHN Staff Report

BOSTON — Bentley sophomore forward Brett Gensler has been named winner of the 60th Walter Brown Award, presented annually to the best American-born college hockey player in New England by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston.

Gensler finished first in the final balloting ahead of runner-up Barry Almeida of Boston College and third-place finisher Brian Flynn of Maine.

Gensler, the first player from the Atlantic Hockey Association to win the award, led the conference in scoring this past season, finishing with 18 goals and 23 assists in 34 regular-season games. Overall, he scored 23 goals and had 27 assists for 50 points in 40 games. He is one of just eight players in the nation to reach the 50-point mark, and he currently ranks seventh nationally in both points and goals.

Bentley coach Ryan Soderquist said, "It is an honor for the Bentley University hockey program that the Gridiron Club recognized Brett Gensler with the prestigious Walter Brown Award. When you look at the distinguished list of previous winners over the years, we take a great deal of pride in having one of our players recognized.

"Brett emerged as one of the top offensive threats in college hockey this season. His dedication on and off the ice to develop his game and improve our team has been tremendous. We look forward to having him back for the next two seasons."

Before enrolling at Bentley, Gensler, a native of St. Charles, Mo., played one season for the Youngstown Phantoms and one for the Cedar Rapids Roughriders, both of the United States Hockey League. He is a graduate of John F. Kennedy High School in Manchester, Missouri.

"The Gridiron Club's Hockey Awards Committee is excited that Brett emerged the winner in this year's balloting. The field of semifinalists was somewhat larger than usual, which was a strong indicator of how balanced the quality of competition has gotten throughout the East. Atlantic Hockey particularly has made great strides in recent years. Brett was almost universally regarded as the best individual performer in the conference and as a formidable presence on the national stage," said committee chairman Tim Costello.

The 60th Walter Brown Award will be presented at the New England College Hockey Writers' Dinner on April 10 in Saugus, Mass.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.