April 4, 2012 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Ferris State's Daniels Named Penrose Award Winner

UML's Bazin, Union's Bennett Among Runners-up

CHN Staff Report

Ferris State coach Bob Daniels was named the 2012 Spencer Penrose Award winner as the Division I men's ice hockey coach of the year. Daniels has led his club to a 25-11-5 overall record and a berth in the 2012 Frozen Frour; the Bulldogs play Union in a national semifinal Thursday afternoon.

Daniels' team won the CCHA's Regular Season Championship with a 16-7-5 record in league play. The Bulldogs bested Michigan and Michigan State, which tied for second place in the conference.

The award is Daniels' second such honor, after he won the Penrose for leading the Bulldogs to a 31-10-1 record in the 2002-03 season. In his 20th year as coach at FSU, Daniels is the longest-serving coach in program history.

Last year, Daniels' team ended the year with an 18-16-5 record and finished fifth in the CCHA with a 12-12-4 record in conference play.

Thursday's national semifinal will be Ferris State's first appearance in the Frozen Four in since joining Division I in 1979. The second-seeded Bulldogs defeated Denver and Cornell to earn their bid to the Frozen Four. After winning the CCHA's regular season title, the Bulldogs were upset by Bowling Green in the CCHA Tournament. However, their regular season record was good enough to earn an at-large bid to the NCAA Tournament for the first time since 2003.

Massachusetts-Lowell's Norm Bazin and Union's Rick Bennett, both first year head coaches, were the runners-up.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.