November 1, 2012 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Cincinnati Among 2014 NCAA Regional Sites

CHN Staff Report

For the first time since a broken freon pipe wreaked havoc with the 1996 Frozen Four, the city of Cincinnati will host NCAA Tournament hockey games.

Cincinnati's downtown facility, now called U.S. Bank Arena, was one of four locations selected to host the 2014 NCAA hockey Regionals. The others are common venues — Webster Bank Arena in Bridgeport, Conn., DCU Center in Worcester, Mass., and Xcel Energy Center in St. Paul, Minn.

It was known as Riverfront Arena in 1996 when Cincinnati hosted the Frozen Four. A broken pipe caused ice issues through the semifinal game between Colorado College and Vermont, which was won by the Tigers in overtime.

A year later, the facility underwent a $14 million renovation. Its main tenant is the Cincinnati Cyclones of the ECHL, and holds 14,453 for hockey. It's also famous for hosting a 1979 concert by The Who, in which 11 people were killed in a stampede to get into the arena.

Miami University was chosen as the host. Its campus is approximately 33 miles from downtown Cincinnati.

As with other recent Regionals, Bridgeport will be hosted by Yale and Fairfield; St. Paul will be hosted by Minnesota; and Worcester will be hosted by Holy Cross.

Bridgeport and Cincinnati games will be March 28-29, 2014; Worcester and St. Paul games will be March 29-30, 2014. The 2014 Frozen Four will be at Wells Fargo Center in Philadelphia, April 10 and 12.

This year's NCAA Regionals will be in Toledo, Providence, Grand Rapids and Manchester; with the Frozen Four at Consol Energy Center in Pittsburgh, April 11 and 13.

The Men's Ice Hockey Committee is currently reviewing bids for the 2015, 2016 and 2017 Frozen Fours. The process likely won't be completed until next summer.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.