January 17, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

AHCA Announces 2013 Award Winners

CHN Staff Report

The American Hockey Coaches Association announced this year's list of its major award winners.

The John MacInnes Award, for those who have shown a great concern for amateur hockey and youth program, was awarded to former Lake Forest coach Tony Fritz. Fritz was the Foresters’ head men’s hockey coach for 32 years from 1978-2010.

The Terry Flanagan Award, which honors a top assistant coach, went to Boston College's Mike Cavanaugh. In Cavanaugh’s 18 years at Boston College, the Eagles have made 10 appearances at the NCAA’s “Frozen Four” and he has been part of four National Championships.

The John Mariucci Award, which honors a legendary secondary school coach, goes to Lorne Grosso of Rochester Mayo High School. Grosso is in his 46th year as boys hockey head coach at Rochester Mayo. With more than 650 victories, he has the most wins in Minnesota boys high school hockey history, passing the legendary Willard Ikola two seasons ago.

The Jim Fullerton Award goes to an individual who "loves the purity of our sport. Whether a coach, administrator, trainer, official, journalist or simply a fan." This year's honor went to John “Jocko” Connolly, writer at the Boston
Herald. Connolly has worked at the Herald for the last 39 years, the first eight in the news department, and the last 31 covering college sports, mainly hockey.

And the John "Snooks" Kelly Founders Award, which honors those people in the coaching profession who have contributed to the overall growth and development of the sport in the United States, goes to Jim Higgins. Higgins formerly was a coach at Dartmouth, Brown, Colgate and Princeton, and remains the winningest head coach at Princeton University ice hockey. Higgins played three seasons at BU (1958-1961).

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.