March 15, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

CCHA Announces All-Time Team

CHN Staff Report

FARMINGTON HILLS, Mich. — As the CCHA celebrates its 42nd and final season, it announced its all-time team today.

The group of 12 players was selected by a committee of coaches, administrators and media.

All 12 players selected to the CCHA All-Time Team were All-Americans (eight multiple All-Americans) and graduated to professional careers. Ten played in the National Hockey League (NHL), Michigan State goaltender Ryan Miller blossomed into an NHL All-Star and U.S. Olympian, and Bowling Green defenseman Ken Morrow won a Gold medal with the 1980 U.S. Olympic Team. Morrow (N.Y. Islanders) and Lake Superior forward Jim Dowd (New Jersey Devils) each has their name engraved on the Stanley Cup.

The CCHA All-Time Team was chosen from those who played at least three years of college hockey.

The All-Time Team includes four Hobey Baker Award winners, including McPhee, the league’s first winner in 1982, along with Kip Miller (1990), Morrison (1997) and Ryan Miller (2002). Morrison and Ryan Miller are the league’s only two-time Players of the Year, while Emerson is the league’s all-time leading scorer and Gagne is the all-time top scorer among CCHA defensemen.

CCHA All-Time Team

F George McPhee (1978-82), Bowling Green — 114-153—267
F Kip Miller (1986-90), Michigan State — 118-143—261
F Brendan Morrison (1993-97), Michigan — 102-182—284
D Wayne Gagne (1983-87), Western Michigan — 42-199—241
D Andy Greene (2002-06), Miami — 27-87—114
G Ryan Miller (1999-2002), Michigan State — 73-18-12, 1.54, .941  

F Jim Dowd (1987-91), Lake Superior — 91-183—274
F Nelson Emerson (1986-90), Bowling Green — 112-182—294
F Bill Joyce (1976-80), Northern Michigan — 112-143—255
D John-Michael Liles (1999-03), Michigan State — 44-94—138
D Ken Morrow (1975-79), Bowling Green — 34-92—126
G Mike Liut (1973-77), Bowling Green — 53-27-1, 3.35, .888

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.