March 20, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Whitney Wins 61st Walter Brown Award

CHN Staff Report

Boston College senior right wing Steven Whitney was named winner of the 61st Walter Brown Award, presented annually by the Gridiron Club to the best American-born college hockey player in New England. Whitney finished first in the final balloting ahead of runner-up Eric Hartzell of Quinnipiac and third-place finisher Johnny Gaudreau of BC.

Whitney is assistant captain and leading goal scorer for the Eagles. His 25 goals in 36 games to date is the second highest total in the country. He has added 18 assists for 43 points. Six of Whitney’s goals this season have been game winners. Thirteen of his goals and nine of his assists have come either in the third period or in overtime, placing him in first in the nation in that category.

Whitney is the 23rd player from Boston College to win the Walter Brown Award since its inception in 1953. The award was established at the 20th reunion of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers in honor of Brown, who coached the Rangers to America’s first World Championship in Prague, Czechoslovakia. BC’s head coach Jerry York was the award winner in 1967, and associate head coach Greg Brown received it in 1990.

“Steven Whitney’s leadership of this year’s BC team has been truly exceptional,” said Tim Costello, chairman of the Gridiron Club’s Hockey Awards Committee. “Not only has he habitually come up with critical goals or assists when the game is on the line. He has also been a fixture on both the power play and the penalty kill, and he has dropped back to play defense a number of times when Coach York needed experienced help back there.”

The award will be presented at the New England College Hockey Writers’ Dinner on April 16 in Saugus, Mass.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.