March 21, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Gaudreau, Gillies, Bazin Earn Top Hockey East Honors

CHN Staff Report

WAKEFIELD, Mass. — Boston College sophomore Johnny Gaudreau, who earlier in the day was named a Hobey Baker Award finalist, was named Hockey East Player of the Year on Thursday evening.

Gaudreau opened his second season with at least one point in each of his first 12 games, including nine goals and nine assists during a 10-game win streak for the Eagles. He closed the regular season in equally dramatic fashion, scoring twice and setting up four of the five other BC goals in a 7-2 win at Vermont, to finish four points ahead of Merrimack’s Mike Collins for the scoring title. He leads all Division I players with a 1.48 points-per-game average, spearheading the nation’s No. 2 overall offense.

Gaudreau is just the fourth underclassman in league history to be selected as Player of the Year, joining NHL legends Brian Leetch and Paul Kariya (both chosen after dominant freshman seasons) and current BC associate head coach Greg Brown (1988-89).

Collins ended up as runner-up to Gaudreau for Player of the Year, alongside freshman goaltender Jon Gillies (South Portland, Maine) of Providence, who was selected as Hockey East Rookie of the Year. Starting all but one of Providence’s 27 Hockey East games, Gillies had .929 save percentage and 2.17 goals-against-average in league play. Highlighting his five shutouts were 44 saves in an impressive 2-0 win against Massachusetts, and 37 in a similar showing a month later against then-5th-ranked New Hampshire. He is just the third freshman ever to be named a First Team Hockey East All Star, joining Leetch and Kariya, and the first ever among rookie goaltenders.

One of the league’s charter members, Massachusetts-Lowell clinched its first-ever Hockey East regular season title in 2012-13, and for that, coach Norm Bazin won Coach of the Year for the second time in as many years behind the bench. Bazin, who previously led the team to the Hockey East title game and an NCAA tournament berth as a player in 1994, is just the second individual to receive the Coach of the Year Award in consecutive seasons, joining Boston University’s Jack Parker, who was honored in 2005 and 2006.

All-Hockey East

G Jon Gillies, Providence, Sr.
D Chad Ruhwedel, Mass.-Lowell, Jr.
D Trevor van Riemsdyk, New Hampshire, So.
F Mike Collins, Merrimack, Jr.
F Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
F Steven Whitney, Boston College

G Connor Hellebuyck, Mass.-Lowell, Fr.
D Jordan Heywood, Merrimack College, Jr.
D Patrick Wey, Boston College, Sr.
F Joseph Pendenza, Mass.-Lowell, Jr.
F Evan Rodrigues, Boston University, So.
F Riley Wetmore, Mass.-Lowell, Sr.

G Casey DeSmith, New Hampshire
D Matt Grzelcyk, Boston University
D Steven Shamanski, Providence
F Kevin Goumas, New Hampshire
F Branden Gracel, Massachusetts
F Wade Megan, Boston University
F Chris McCarthy, Vermont

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.