April 5, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

More Players Add to Early NHL Signings

CHN Staff Report

The end of the college season for all but four teams, has brought the usual bevy of players leaving early to sign NHL deals. Some of those players were drafted, and some were not.

In addition to those already signed, the end of the first week of April brought a bunch more.

The list includes Union goaltender Troy Grosenick, who leaves after three seasons to sign a free agent deal with the San Jose Sharks. Grosenick helped lead Union to the Frozen Four last year, and two consecutive ECAC tournament championships, but came up one game short of this year's Frozen Four.

San Jose also inked Ohio State junior Chris Crane, a seventh-round pick of the Sharks in 2010. After scoring 14 goals last year, he tailed off to just six this past season.

A 6-foot-3, 200-pound junior, Minnesota's Mark Alt left to sign with Carolina, the team that drafted him in the second round in 2010. After scoring five goals from the backline last season, Alt was 0-7-7 this year, on a defense corps that included six NHL Draft picks. That list doesn't even include fellow junior Nate Schmidt, an unrestricted free agent who left earlier in the week to sign with Washington after a stellar year. Two other Minnesota juniors also left earlier in the week, Zach Budish and Nick Bjugstad.

Denver lost sophomore defenseman Scott Mayfield to the New York Islanders, the team that drafted him in the second round in 2011. He was 4-13—17 this past season.

Six-foot-5 North Dakota junior defenseman Derek Forbort, a first round pick of Los Angeles in 2010, was set to sign with the Kings as of Friday. A Duluth, Minn., and product of the U.S. junior national program, Forbort had a career-high 4-13—17 this season, identical totals to Mayfield.

Last but not least, Dartmouth junior forward Matt Lindblad signed as a free agent with Boston. Beset by injuries last year, Lindblad bounced back to go 10-18—28 this season.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.