May 17, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Atlantic Hockey to Increase Scholarship Limit

CHN Staff Report

The Atlantic Hockey Board of Directors have voted to raise the league's scholarship limit from 12 to 14 by the 2015-16 season.

The move will bring the league's teams closer to the NCAA-wide maximum of 18.

The first step will come in 2014-15, when the league increases to 13, followed by 14 the next year.

“These policy changes are significant as the league moves forward into its second decade of Division I Ice Hockey competition,” commissioner Bob DeGregorio said. “The addition of two scholarships will enable our members to enhance their recruiting abilities to compete with the other Division I leagues without affecting the overall competitiveness within the Atlantic Hockey structure."

Atlantic Hockey loses Connecticut for the 2014-15 season, when it moves to Hockey East, leaving it with 11 teams, barring expansion. According to the league, two schools have expressed interest in joining the league to replace UConn. One is believed to be St. Anselm.

A number of schools have long expressed interest in competing with 18 scholarships — for example, Niagara, Robert Morris and Mercyhurst. But that has run into resistance from other schools who wish to keep the scholarship limit low. At one point, the former schools looked into leaving for the then-CCHA, but those plans never worked out.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.