October 30, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

10 Finalists Named for 2015-18 Frozen Four Hosts

CHN Staff Report

The NCAA and the Men's Ice Hockey Committe has announced finalists to host the 2015-18 Frozen Four.

The list was narrowed from approximately 15 original bids, down to 10 finalists.

The potential host cities include: Boston, Brooklyn, Buffalo, Chicago, Columbus, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, St. Paul, Tampa, and Washington D.C.

All but Chicago and Brooklyn have hosted Frozen Fours before. Philadelphia is hosting this year.

The Committee is expected to name the four winning bids some time in late November.

For the 2015 bid, the committee is expected to choose a city familiar with hosting the event, since the timeline is tight — less than 16 months from the time it's selected. Boston and St. Paul would be the most logical in that list, though Boston has gone longer without hosting. Boston last hosted in 2004, while St. Paul hosted in 2011.

Washington D.C. (2009) and Tampa (2012) are "non-traditional" college hockey markets that most people considered to put on great Frozen Fours, and will likely be given strong consideration again. Pittsburgh and Philadelphia seem to be underdogs, because their bids have been so recent, with Pittsburgh hosting last year and Philadelphia this year.

Columbus hosted in 2005 at Ohio State's on-campus arena. The bid this time is for Nationwide Arena, home of the NHL's Columbus Blue Jackets. Buffalo hosted in 2003, and would get strong consideration, being in a traditional market and not having hosted in more than 10 years.

Although in non-traditional markets, Chicago and Brooklyn are both in very large cities, which could be appealing to the Committee. And they will both be housing major league basketball and hockey teams by 2015. Brooklyn's arena, however, the Barclays Center, seats less fans for hockey than the other arenas, and has some sightline obstructions. There has been discussion of the arena rectifying that in time for the NHL's New York Islanders to begin play there in 2015-16.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.