December 11, 2013 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Boston, Tampa, Chicago, St. Paul Get Frozen Four Bids

CHN Staff Report

Boston's TD Garden will host the 2015 Frozen Four, one of four sites awarded, as announced today by the NCAA.

Tampa, Fla., Chicago and St. Paul, Minn., are the other locations, for 2016-18 respectively.

Also See: Future Sites

Boston, which hasn't hosted since 2004, was a logical candidate to get the 2015 bid, because of its experience hosting the event and the fact that it's only 16 months away.

Tampa is somewhat surprising, only because it just hosted in 2012, though its bid was strengthened by the inclusion of Wisconsin as the host.

Chicago's United Center will get the event for the first time in 2017. That will be followed by the Xcel Center in St. Paul, Minn., in 2018. St. Paul, like Boston a long-time traditional spot, hosted most recently in 2011.

Brooklyn, Buffalo, Philadelphia, Pittsburgh, Columbus and Washington D.C. were also in the mix.

The locations for the 2015 NCAA Reigonals were also announced. The Northeast and East Regional spots were filled by regulars Manchester, N.H., and Providence, R.I. The Midwest will be hosted by Notre Dame's Compton Arena in South Bend, Ind., for the first time. Another first timer will host the West Regional, Scheels Arena in Fargo, N.D.

The 2016 NCAA Regional locations will be Albany, N.Y., Worcester, Mass., St. Paul, Minn., and Cincinnati, Ohio.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.