March 20, 2014 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Hobey Top 10 Revealed

Gaudreau, Carey Are Repeat Finalists

CHN Staff Report

The Hobey Baker Award Committee announced the 10 finalists for this year's honor today, a list that includes two repeat names. The top three will be announced April 2, with the winner announced on the Friday of this year's Frozen Four, April 11 in Philadelphia.

Boston College's Johnny Gaudreau, the nation's leader in goals (32) and points (69), is one of two repeat finalist from last year. He is one of six juniors on the list, which includes three seniors and a sophomore.

Nebraska-Omaha's Josh Archibald (29-14—43), another junior and the second-leading goal scorer, is also a finalist.

The top three point scorers in the nation are represented. After Gaudreau is St. Lawrence senior Greg Carey (18-39—57), the other repeat finalist who just signed a free agent contract with the NHL's Phoenix Coyotes, and Gaudreau's BC linemate, Kevin Hayes (24-32—56), another senior.

Other forwards include St. Cloud State's Nic Dowd and Ohio State's Ryan Dzingel.

The only defenseman on the list is Union's Shayne Gostisbehere, a junior with eight goals and 28 points this season. His plus-22 rating is fourth in the nation among defensemen.

The Top 10 is rounded out by three goaltenders — Minnesota's Adam Wilcox, the only sophomore on the list, Wisconsin's Joel Rumpel, and Ferris State's C.J. Motte.

The 10 finalists were selected by voting from all 59 Division I college hockey head coaches and by online fan balloting. Next, the 27-member Selection Committee will determine this year’s Hobey Baker Award winner.

The choices will be tallied, and the top three vote getters will be announced as the Hobey Hat Trick and invited to the ceremony at the Frozen Four. There is not another vote after that, the top vote getter is known but not announced until the Frozen Four.

By conference, there are two players from Hockey East, two from the ECAC, two from the NCHC, three from the Big Ten and one from the WCHA.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.