March 21, 2014 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Gaudreau Wins Second Straight HEA POTY

CHN Staff Report

WAKEFIELD, Mass. — For the second straight season, Boston College junior forward Johnny Gaudreau was named Hockey East Player of the Year, while his coach, Jerry York, earned his third league Coach of the Year honor.

Gaudreau, named a Hobey Baker Award finalist earlier in the day, leads the nation in goals (32) and points (69), with 61 of those points coming on his 31-game point streak that ran from November 1 to March 15. The streak tied the overall Hockey East record, set in 1992-93 by Maine’s Paul Kariya. Gaudreau became the first player in league history to record at least a point in every league contest his team played this season.

He is the third-ever back-to-back winner of the league’s most prestigious individual award, joining Boston University’s Chris Drury (1997, 1998) and Boston College’s Greg Brown (1989, 1990).

Vermont forward Mario Puskarich was selected the Rookie of the Year. Puskarich has 35 points this season (19g, 16a), a team rookie record for the program's nine years in Hockey East, and he is the first Catamount to win Rookie of the Year since the team joined HEA in 2005-06. Puskarich’s 19 goals this year are four more than any other freshman in Hockey East, and he ranks tied for fourth in the nation in rookie scoring at 0.97 points per game. Puskarich is currently tied for first in the nation in game-winning goals, with seven on the season.

York, college hockey’s all-time winningest coach with 961 wins, has already won his seventh league regular-season crown with BC and led his Eagles to their fifth straight Beanpot title. The Eagles didn’t lose a game in December, January or February, stringing together a 19-game unbeaten streak (17-0-2). Though the Eagles are missing the Hockey East Semifinals for the first time since 2004, they are a lock to be selected for their fifth consecutive NCAA tournament.

Northeastern had the runner-up on all three major awards, with redshirt-junior goalie Clay Witt finishing second for Player of the Year, freshman forward Mike Szmatula finishing second for Rookie of the Year, and head coach Jim Madigan was the runner-up for Coach of the Year.

All-Hockey East First Team
G Connor Hellebuyck, Massachusetts-Lowell
D Ben Hutton, Maine
D Michael Matheson, Boston College
F Johnny Gaudreau, Boston College
F Kevin Hayes, Boston College
F Devin Shore, Maine

All-Hockey East Second Team
G Clay Witt, Northeastern
D Stephen Johns, Notre Dame
D Eric Knodel, New Hampshire
D Josh Manson, Northeastern
F Kevin Goumas, New Hampshire
F Chris McCarthy, Vermont
F Kevin Roy, Northeastern

All-Hockey East Honorable Mention
G Thatcher Demko, Boston College
D Garrett Noonan, Boston University
D Michael Paliotta, Vermont
F Bill Arnold, Boston College
F Ross Mauermann, Providence

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.