March 26, 2014 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Gaudreau Named Walter Brown Award Winner

CHN Staff Report

BOSTON — Boston College junior left wing Johnny Gaudreau was named winner of the 62nd Walter Brown Award, presented annually by the Gridiron Club of Greater Boston to the best American-born college hockey player in New England.

Gaudreau finished first in the final balloting ahead of runner-up, teammate Bill Arnold, and third-place finisher Steve Weinstein of Bentley.

Gaudreau leads all Division I players in scoring with 32 goals and 37 assists in 37 games. He was recently named Hockey East Player of the Year for the second consecutive season. He scored at least one point in 31 consecutive games, tying the mark set by Paul Kariya of Maine in 1992-93. In three seasons at Boston College, Gaudreau has amassed 164 points, placing him 15th all-time among Eagle scorers. His brother Matthew is a freshman forward on the Eagles.

Gaudreau is the 24th player from Boston College to win the Walter Brown Award since its inception in 1953. The award was established at the 20th reunion of the 1933 Massachusetts Rangers in honor of Brown, who coached the Rangers to America’s first World Championship in Prague, Czechoslovakia.

BC’s head coach Jerry York was the award winner in 1967. Associate head coach Greg Brown received the award in 1990, and assistant coach Mike Ayers, won it in 2003 when playing for New Hampshire.

“Johnny is one of those few players in college hockey who brings the crowd to their feet whenever he has the puck,” York said. “They’re on their feet in anticipation of something special happening.”

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.