May 2, 2014 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Hockey East Approves 12-team Playoff Format

CHN Staff Report

Hockey East's athletic directors voted earlier this week to finalize a new 12-team playoff format, with Connecticut joining the conference this upcoming season, sources have told College Hockey News.

The only notable change is the first round, which will now include a best-of-three playoff series, as opposed ot the single-elimination round in this past season's 11-team tournament.

All 12 programs will qualify, with the top-four receiving first-round byes.

Teams seeded fifth, sixth, seventh and eighth will host the first-round series.

The league's 12 coaches recommended the first-round change to the athletic directors. The measure was approved after a vote.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.