March 16, 2017 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Aston-Reese Wins HEA POTY

CHN Staff Report

CAMBRIDGE, Mass. — Hockey East Association announced that Northeastern senior forward Zach Aston-Reese has been awarded the 2017 Player of the Year.

Boston University first-year forward Clayton Keller was named the league's Rookie of the Year for a season in which he led the Terriers in scoring, and Mass.-Lowell head coach Norm Bazin collected his third Bob Kullen Award as the Bauer Coach of the Year after guiding his River Hawks to a share of the Hockey East regular-season crown and the top seed in the Hockey East Tournament.

Aston-Reese tops off a historic 2016-17 season by becoming just the second Northeastern player to be named the Hockey East Player of the Year and the first Husky skater to earn the honor. The Staten Island, N.Y., native racked up 63 points (31 goals, 32 assists) in just 38 games across his senior campaign to lead the nation in points and registered 17 goals and 18 assists in 22 Hockey East games to finish second in the Hockey East scoring race.

Aston-Reese led the NCAA in overall goals (31), goals per game (0.82), shorthanded goals (4), and hat tricks (3). The recent Pittsburgh Penguins-signee was named a Hobey Baker Top 10 Finalist and is a semifinalist for the Walter Brown Award, given annual to the top American-born player in New England.

Keller, despite missing eight games during the regular season, currently leads all Hockey East rookies in several offensive categories, including points (40), goals per game (0.68), assists per game (0.75), points per game (1.43), shorthanded goals (4), shots on goal (127), and shots on goal per game (4.54).

Bazin returns his River Hawks to the Hockey East semifinals for the fifth straight year, just the ninth time a program has put together such a stretch. He coached Lowell to a 14-7-1 record in Hockey East play, good enough for a share of the regular season title.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.