March 17, 2017 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Vecchione Wins ECAC POTY; Bennett Named Top Coach

CHN Staff Report

LAKE PLACID, N.Y. — Union forward Mike Vecchione was named Player of the Year by the ECAC today. A Hobey Baker Award finalist, Vecchione is among that nation's leaders in points and goals.

Leading the league in nearly every statistical category, St. Lawrence’s Kyle Hayton was voted the Ken Dryden Award winner, recognizing the league’s top goalie. He finished the regular-season first with a .939 save percentage in the league.

Selected to finish seventh in the preseason coaches’ poll and eighth in the preseason media poll, Rick Bennett guided Union to a share of the ECAC Hockey regular-season title, capturing the program’s fourth Cleary Cup. In doing so he earned his second Tim Taylor Coach of the Year Award.

Freshman Adam Fox took home top rookie honors as he made a name for himself on the Harvard blue-line. The Jericho, N.Y. native, and Calgary Flames prospect currently the team with 27 assists.

Jake Weidner was tabbed as the league’s Best Defensive Forward. The senior from Grand Valley, Ont., registered 53 blocks on the season, while winning 318 face-offs in league play, which was second most.

James de Haas from Clarkson was selected the league’s Best Defensive Defenseman.

F Spencer Foo, Union
F Alexander Kerfoot, Harvard    
F Mike Vecchione, Union
D Gavin Bayreuther, St. Lawrence          
D Adam Fox, Harvard
G Kyle Hayton, St. Lawrence

F Ryan Donato, Harvard
F John Hayden, Yale    
F Max Veronneau, Princeton
D James de Haas, Clarkson   
D Jeff Taylor, Union
G Alex Sakellaropoulos, Union

F Troy Crema, Dartmouth       
F Sam Lafferty, Brown
F Sam Vigneault, Clarkson
D Jake Kulevich, Colgate 
D Chase Priskie, Quinnipiac        
G Merrick Madsen, Harvard

F Jackson Cressey, Princeton
F Sheldon Rempal, Clarkson
F Nico Sturm, Clarkson
F Adam Fox, Harvard
D Yanni Kaldis, Cornell
G Jake Kielly, Clarkson

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.