April 7, 2017 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Denver Goaltender Jaillet Wins Mike Richter Award

by Avash Kalra/Senior Writer (@AvashKalra)

See all of CHN's Tournament coverage: articles, brackets, history and more.

CHICAGO — A night before a scheduled start in the national championship game, Denver junior goaltender Tanner Jaillet was named the winner of the 2017 Mike Richter Award, which honors the most outstanding goaltender in NCAA men's hockey.

Jaillet was Denver's reliable last line of defense this season, as the Pioneers led the nation in team defense, with an average of 1.81 goals per game allowed heading into Saturday's title game. Jaillet also entered the NCAA Frozen Four as the only goaltender remaining in the tournament to rank in the top 10 in both goals-against average and save percentage.

Both marks are career highs for Jaillet, who has won 27 games this year for the 32-win Pioneers. In Thursday's national semifinal win over Notre Dame, Jaillet found himself the beneficiary of a relentless Denver attack that put away the Fighting irish, 6-1.

"It was awesome," Jaillet said. "That was probably the best game we've had all year to be honest. Our forwards completedly dominated that game and made mine and my D-men's job pretty easy."

This season, Jaillet was also named the NCHC Goaltender of the Year, a member of the All-NCHC First Team, and a CCM/AHCA Second-Team All-American.

The native of Red Deer, Alberta, was selected as this year's award recipient over co-finalists Michael Bitzer (Bemidji State), Hunter Miska (Minnesota-Duluth), Cal Petersen (Notre Dame), and Charles Williams (Canisius).

And he joins head coach Jim Montgomery (Spencer Penrose Award winner as national coach of the year) and teammate Will Butcher (Hobey Baker Award winner) in Denver's sweep of this year's major individual awards.

Candidates for the Mike Richter Award were determined by nominations from all 60 NCAA Division I men's hockey head coaches. The 10 semifinalists, five finalists, and winner are selected by a committee of coaches, scouts, and members of the media.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 Avash Kalra. All Rights Reserved.