April 18, 2017 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Buffalo, Detroit, Pittsburgh, Boston Get Frozen Four Bids

Allentown, Sioux Falls Among Regional Sites

CHN Staff Report

The NCAA has officially announced the sites of the 2019-2022 Frozen Fours. They will go to: Buffalo (2019), Detroit (2020), Pittsburgh (2021) and Boston (2022).

The 2018 Frozen Four had already previously been awarded to St. Paul, Minn.

For Buffalo, it will be the second time it's hosting a Frozen Four, the last coming in 2003. Canisius is the host of the bid.

Detroit has hosted the Frozen Four many times, but the 2020 bid will be the first at the new Little Caesars Arena, which opens at the start of next season. Detroit last hosted in 2010, when it was at Ford Field, and hosted five other times before that, starting in 1977 at the old Olympia. It also hosted in 1979, 1985, 1987 and 1990 at Joe Louis Arena. Michigan State is the host.

Pittsburgh will get the Frozen Four for a second time, joining 2013. It will again be hosted by Robert Morris.

And 2022 will be Boston's eighth time hosting, the fourth at the current Boston TD Garden. The last time was in 2015, when Providence won. The new arena also hosted in 2004 and 1998. The old Boston Arena hosted in 1960, then it was at the old Boston Garden three straight years from 1972-74.

See complete list of Future Sites

The NCAA also announced Regional locations for the next two years, and it includes two newcomers.

Allentown has joined the mix at the new PPL Center, which opened in 2014 and is the current home of the AHL's Lehigh Valley Phantoms. Penn State is the host for both Regionals, in 2018 and 2019. The arena seats 8,420 for hockey. Allentown will mark the farthest east that the Midwest Regional has ever been, approximately 500 miles east of Toledo, Ohio.

The other newcomer is Sioux Falls, which will host in 2018 and will mark the first time an NCAA game is played in South Dakota. The Denny Sanford Premier Center holds 10,678 for hockey, and opened in 2014. It is the current home of the Sioux Falls Stampede of the USHL.

North Daokta will host the Sioux Falls regional, and will again host in Fargo, N.D., in 2019.

Other 2018 Regionals will be in Worcester (Mass.) and Bridgeport (Conn.). Other 2019 Regionals will be in Providence (R.I.) and Mancester (N.H.), the same sites as this year's Regionals.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.