June 22, 2017 PRINT Bookmark and Share

Parker, Smith, Wilson, Young Selected to US Hockey Hall

CHN Staff Report

COLORADO SPRINGS, Colo. — Jack Parker, Ben Smith, Ron Wilson, Scott Young and Kevin Collins were selected as this year's inductees into the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame.

Jack Parker coached 1,484 games at Boston University over 40 seasons and won 897 of them, a .643 winning percentage. He won three national championships, 11 conference titles and 21 Beanpot Tournaments. Parker retired after the 2012-13 season.

Parker, who also played at Boston University through 1968, coached 24 U.S. Olympians while at BU. Another Parker protégé, Mike Sullivan, played at Boston University in the 1980s before embarking on a coaching career during which he became the first American head coach to win consecutive Stanley Cups. 

In addition to his duties at Boston University, Parker served as assistant coach of the U.S. Men’s National Team in 1995, head coach of the 1996 U.S. National Junior Team and head coach of the 2013 U.S. Men’s Select Team which won the Deutschland Cup. 

Ben Smith was head coach of the U.S. Olympic Women’s Ice Hockey Team in 1998, 2002 and 2006, leading Team USA to the first-ever gold medal in women’s hockey at the 1998 Winter Olympic Games. Smith was 37-7 record in IIHF Women’s World Championship and Olympic competition during his tenure from 1996 to 2006, a span that included two gold medals, six silver medals and one bronze medal.

Smith was a standout hockey player at Harvard in the late 1960s. After graduation, he served as an assistant men’s coach at Massachusetts while also coaching high school hockey in Gloucester. He eventually became an assistant coach at Yale, where he served for five seasons before joining Parker’s coaching staff at Boston University. In 1988, Smith was appointed as an assistant coach for the U.S. Olympic Men’s Ice Hockey Team. He soon earned his first head coaching appointment, taking over Dartmouth in 1990 and then moving to the same role at Northeastern, where he led the Huskies to an NCAA Tournament appearance in 1994.

Ron Wilson is the all-time winningest American head coach in NHL history, with 648 regular-season coaching victories, 48 wins in the Stanley Cup playoffs and an Eastern Conference championship with the Washington Capitals in 1998. Wilson served as head coach with Vancouver, Anaheim, Washington, San Jose and Toronto over 15 full seasons. 

Wilson also guided Team USA, most notably, to its triumph at the inaugural World Cup of Hockey in 1996. He later led the 2016 United States National Junior Team to a bronze medal at the World Junior Championship. In between, he led the U.S. to silver at the 2010 Olympic Winter Games.

Wilson starred at Providence in the late 1970s, then went on to play in the NHL with Toronto and Minnesota. As a sophomore with the Friars, Wilson was named ECAC Player of the Year after leading the nation in points (87).

Scott Young played at Boston University before going on to a 17-year NHL career, winning Stanley Cup championships in 1991 and 1996. He had 342 goals and 415 assists in 1,181 regular-season games. He retired after the 2005-06 season among the NHL leaders in game-winning and shorthanded goals on multiple occasions. Young is one of only 12 U.S.-born men’s hockey players to compete in three Olympic Winter Games, and was part of the 1996 World Cup championship team.

Young was the rookie of the year in Hockey East, and went on to play on the 1988 Olympic team. He later debuted with the NHL's Hartford Whalers. After the conclusion of his playing career, which included NHL stops with Hartford, Pittsburgh, Quebec, Colorado, Anaheim, St. Louis and Dallas, Young returned to his native Massachusetts, where he served as a youth and high school hockey coach and as director of hockey operations at Boston University. He is today an assistant coach with the Terriers.

Kevin Collins, a native of Springfield, Mass., was an NHL official for 28 years, including 12 appearances in the Stanley Cup Finals. He played college hockey at American International.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.