December 6, 2017 PRINT Bookmark and Share

U.S. World Junior Preliminary Roster Announced With 24 NCAA Players

CHN Staff Report

Twenty-four of the 28 players on Team USA's preliminary World Junior Championship roster are currently in the NCAA, according to the list, revealed Tuesday.

Three forwards, two defensemen and two goaltenders return from last year's gold-medal winning roster. The head coach is also the same, St. Cloud State's Bob Motzko.

This year's tournament begins Dec. 26 in Buffalo, N.Y. The round-robin portion will be highlighted, as usual, by the U.S.-Canada matchup, but this year, it has an extra twist — it will be played outdoors for the first time.

The list of 28 will be pared to 23 before then tournament starts.

Boston University goalie Jake Oettinger and Boston College goalie Joe Woll both return from last year's team. Maine's Jeremy Swayman joins them.

The returning defensemen are Harvard's Adam Fox and Minnesota's Ryan Lindgren. They are joined by three Minnesota-Duluth backliners: Mikey Anderson, Scott Perunovich and Dylan Samberg. The other five are Quinn Hughes (Michigan), Cole Hults (Penn State), Phil Kemp (Yale), Andrew Peeke (Notre Dame) and Reilly Walsh (Harvard).

BU's Patrick Harper and Minnesota-Duluth's Joey Anderson are the forwards that return from last year's team; as well as Kieffer Bellows, who played for Boston University last year but left school last offseason to play in Major Junior.

The other nine NCAA forwards are: Jack Badini (Harvard), Trent Frederic (Wisconsin), Will Lockwood (Michigan), Hugh McGing (Western Michigan), Casey Mittelstadt (Minnesota), Josh Norris (Michigan), Ryan Poehling (St. Cloud State), Brady Tkachuk (BU) and Riley Tufte (Minnesota-Duluth).

The entire coaching staff is back. In addition to Motzko, the list includes current Northern Michigan coach Grant Potulny.

Bookmark and Share PRINT

Comment on this Article

Send Feedback | Privacy Policy | Terms and Conditions

©2017 College Hockey News.